Torsobear Series

Torsobear: Yarns from Toyburg

In the fluffy noir world of Torsobear, not all toys play nice!

Welcome to the city of Toyburg, where the sweet streets are teeming with crime, passion, and murders most foul. They are walked (for the most part) by grim detectives, burned-out has-beens, femme fatales and tragic heroes.

The dismembered bodies of teddy bears are being found in back alleys of Mindy Mile district, and it’s up to our hero, rookie detective Ruxby Bear and his partner officer Hazbrow to solve this string of murders, no matter how high and far the clues take them.

Between cases, we take a look into the lives of Toyburg’s citizens, police and criminals. No matter where you turn, this city has something sinister hidden just behind the storybook surface.

Remember, it’s always fun until someone gets hurt…

Featuring the story The Big Wind-Up – script by Janos Honkonen, art by Saoirse Towler, letters by Mick Schubert.

The past isn’t like it used to be. In the early days of Toyburg the men were wood and tin, and the women were porcelain. Who cares if a few immigrant teddies get torn apart in the dark of the night. Enter young officer Hazbrow, fresh out of the block and sap behind his ears, who is going to learn a valuable life lesson about caring.

More information:

Torsobear Volume 2: All Stitched Up


With its greatest cop boxed up in toy prison, the sweet city of Toyburg is overrun with playthings on the edge of madness – driven by a mysterious force, obsessed with the crimes of others.

Looking back on recent villainy, can Ruxby survive long enough in jail to figure out who framed him? Can Hazbrow hold Toyburg Police together long enough to turn the tide?

Return to Fluffy Noir in this Step Beyond Imagination.

The stories were created by Brett Uren (Kuzimu, The Vale), Cy Dethan (Cancertown, Indifference Engine), Janos Honkonen (Kaiken yllä etana, The Rocket Man from the Sea), co-editor Glenn Møane (Fubar, Indie Comics Horror), Grainne McEntee (Apes ‘n’ Capes), Jon Scrivens (Little Terrors), Kieran Squires (The Hammer), Frank Martin (Modern Testament), Ronald Montgomery, Jimmy Furlong (S**t Flingers), Peter Rogers & Jake Young. The artists include: Juan Romera (Strange Nation), Mike Motz (Little JImmy Says ‘Same is Lame’), Jon Scrivens (Little Terrors), Andrew Hartmann (S**t Flingers), Renzo Rodriguez (Toxic Storm), Lee Killeen (Under a Pale Blue Sky), Giles Crawford (Lowlives), Edward R. Norden (Murky Depths), Carlos Zamudio (The Remains), Charlie Hogg (The Hammer), Benjamin Ling, Harold Saxon, Faye Harmon (Kuzimu, The Vale), Jimmy Kerast & the almighty Hal Laren (Reaper Comics). Letterers Nic Wilkinson (Cancertown, White Knuckle) & Mick Schubert (Memoirs of the Mysterious, Deviants) bring words into playful, animated life.